Vakul's .NET Realm

My journey towards .NET World…

  • Details

    Vakuls MCPD Certification Vakuls MCTS Certification Author's Pic



  • Blog Stats

    • 142,055 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 355 other followers

  • Follow me in Twitter:

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.




  • qrcode
  • Subscribe

  • del.icio.us:

Allow This Webpage to access your Clipboard Pop-Up Warning Message in IE7

Posted by Vakul Kumar More on December 20, 2007


I was registering on a web-site (Secured) and suddenly to my surprise I had a pop-up on my screen(Allow this Webpage to access your clipboard). I was bit puzzled and closed the form and tried to enter again and the popup was repeatedly bugging me and I was forced to search the solution in BIG BROTHER  search (Google) and was surprised to find that this is one of the enhanced and tightened security features that have been incorporated into IE7.

Do you want to allow this webpage to access your Clipboard?

My Digital Life came to my rescue with all the information needed to disable and use the feature to safeguard my browser.

This security feature can be disabled. To disable the pop up warning message about possible harmful or unauthorized Clipboard access, follow the steps below:

  1. Go to Tools -> Internet Options.
  2. Go to Security tab.
  3. Select “Internet” zone, then click on “Custom level…” button.
  4. Scroll down to “Scripting” section (at the bottom few).
  5. Under “Allow Programmatic clipboard access” option, check or select (tick) Enable. Default action for this option is Prompt, which cause the pop-up message whenever there is any attempt to access the Clipboard.
  6. Click Ok twice to exit from Internet Options.

Changing the preference to Enable for “Allow Programmatic clipboard access” option can increase security risk. You can set it to Disable to disallow all website’s access to Clipboard’s resident data. However, the better and more secure alternative is to edit the “Allow Programmatic clipboard access” setting for “Trusted sites” zone (steps same as above, only that you select “Trusted sites” in step 3 instead of “Internet”), and add the websites that you trusted and selected into Trusted sites zone.

Thanks to My Digital Life for the post.

17 Responses to “Allow This Webpage to access your Clipboard Pop-Up Warning Message in IE7”

  1. admin_papa said

    Good Day

    Just wanted to share my new experience.

    If your system fails to start due to an error related to missing HAL.DLL, invalid Boot.ini or any other critical system boot files you can fix this by using the XP installation CD. Simply boot from your XP Setup CD and enter the Recovery Console. Then launch “attrib -H -R -S” on the C:\Boot.ini file and delete it. Launch “Bootcfg /Rebuild” and then Fixboot

    Cheers,
    Carl

  2. Angie said

    I’ve come across this on only ONE site. Why is it that some sites want this and others don’t? I’m not giving any website access to my clipboard, especially when I don’t know the owner. Isn’t there a way for the web master to turn off this feature instead of expecting visitors to do it? I’d have to guess yes since most sites DON’T do this. I tried to talk to the owner of the site about it but he acted like an a$$ as if I was stupid for not knowing about it. I’m constantly browsing new sites and haven’t encountered the pop-up before. What makes him so special that he wants access and none of the others I’ve come across so far don’t?

  3. Alfie said

    But is it possible to disable the pop-up through javascript or html code?

  4. zhuzhu said

    Hello,

    Nice to be registered on vakul.wordpress.com. My little name is maxizhu 😉

  5. great post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this. You must continue your writing. I am sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!find hidden objects games

  6. foopalpemia said

    Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionallyI am happy to seek out a lot of useful information right here in the submit, we need work out extra techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  7. I gefunden weblog site auf Google und test a paar Ihrer frühen Beiträge. Weiter zu pflegen die hervorragende betreiben. I gerade extra Ihr RSS-Feed zu meinem MSN News Reader. Suche Vorwärts bis Studium mehr von Ihnen später ! …

  8. filmy download…

    […]Allow This Webpage to access your Clipboard Pop-Up Warning Message in IE7 « Vakul's .NET Realm[…]…

  9. gRisMaxinegjad said

    Actually exciting content articles. I enjoyed examining it.

  10. mKierstinMailonaqf said

    i am from Poland so I can’t write english quite well, but this post is really useful.

  11. tJetGreentqajn said

    This is the appropriate weblog for anybody who wants to search out out about this topic. You notice a lot its virtually exhausting to argue with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, simply great!

  12. I in addition to my buddies ended up studying the excellent advice on your web blog then quickly got an awful suspicion I had not thanked the web blog owner for those secrets. All the young men appeared to be absolutely glad to read through them and have actually been using those things. Thanks for being considerably accommodating as well as for picking this kind of outstanding subject matter millions of individuals are really wanting to be aware of. My honest apologies for not expressing gratitude to earlier.

Leave a Reply

 
